God, and things.

November 15, 2012

I was talking with a friend of mine the other day. Actually, it was more like the other week or so…it wasn’t too recent. However, what he said really stuck with me. I’ve been thinking about it since we had this conversation. We were talking religion, and I was telling him that I go to church all the time, but that while I love and pray to my God all the time, I don’t appreciate the whole idea around church and how while I believe thoroughly and completely in my God, I don’t believe in organized religion. I told him how, I don’t respect how all religions have all these tight rules which when you think deeply about these restrictions they really don’t retract in anyway from your bond with your God. I continued to tell him that I hate when I go to church and they start doing their holier than thou shit, where they proceed to condemn matters such a homosexuality. And then he said “but that’s what church is supposed to do. Church is supposed to touch matters that you don’t necessarily agree with. I’d feel out of place if I didn’t go to church and heard them say something that made me uncomfortable.”
Well, that’s what he said essentially. He then continued on to explain that how although he too doesn’t always agree with the messages the church preaches strong about, he appreciates them because they make him go home and evaluate his life, and speak to God privately about why these matters make him feel uncomfortable.

I really dig that way if thinking. Him saying that really encourages me to appreciate church and religion a lot more. It is going to be something that I want to be more knowledgable on. I already have a strong bond with God, and I don’t by any means think that religion always makes for a better relationship with God. I very much believe that you can be religious and be a devout follower and still not have a close relationship with God. But, looking at it the way my boy explained I think it when pertaining to my specific relationship with God, I think that going to church and later on coming home and addressing the things that made me uncomfortable will only tighten my relationship with God. And at the very least, it will make me a better thinker and more open minded person.

In fact, come to think of it, me and him had a very nice conversation that day. He really made me think about things in different ways. I like it when people open my mind to new ways of thinking. Even if I don’t agree with their expressed sentiment, I’ll always appreciate it if its an honest, and logical thought. Especially when it’s ones that I never thought about myself. For example, me and him that night were talking about homosexuality and you know, how guys usually get around that topic. They’re always so quick to say some variation of how they don’t have any problems with gay guys so long as they don’t get hit on…blah blah blah. Anyways, once we hit the homosexuality topic I was expecting to here something to that effect from him. I was already getting ready to tap into my feminista side and explain to him how guys cat call and thereby disrespect women all the time, and that men are hypocritical for getting so upset when they experience the same exact thing. However, I didn’t get a chance to because rather then go on about how he wouldn’t like to be approached by a gay guy, my friend simply said that his only concern about homosexuality is that he doesn’t understand it. He says that he doesn’t have a problem with homosexuality and wouldn’t hold it against anyone if they were gay, but that he just doesn’t understand how it works. He continued on to say that men and women are made for each other. Our bodies fit, perfectly. And that that’s the reason why he’s attracted to females…because they fit right with him. That he’s attracted to women because we have what he doesn’t have….we have his missing pieces. And that he doesn’t understand being gravitated to what he already has. I completely understood that logic.

Leave a comment